The future of Western Samoa

1626. The future of Western Samoa

The General Assembly, Recalling its resolution 1569 (XV) of 18 December 1960 concerning the future of the Trust Territory of Western Samoa under New Zealand administration Taking note of Trusteeship Council resolution 2102 (XXVII) of 7 July 1961, Having examined the report of the United Nations Plebiscite Commissioner[1] concerning the plebiscite held in Western Samoa on 9 May 1961, Having heard the statements of the representative of the Administering Authority and of the Prime Minister of Western Samoa,

1. Expresses its high appreciation of the work of the United Nations Plebiscite Commissioner for Western Samoa and his staff, and of the co-operation he received from the Administering Authority and from the Government and people of Western Samoa;

2. Endorses the results of the plebiscite, namely that:

(a) The people of Western Samoa have, by an overwhelming majority, expressed their agreement with the Constitution for an independent State of Western Samoa adopted by the Constitutional Convention on 28 October 1960;

(b) The people of Western Samoa have agreed by an overwhelming majority that on 1 January 1962 Western Samoa should become an independent State on the basis of that Constitution;

3. Resolves, in agreement with the Administering Authority, that the Trusteeship Agreement for Western Samoa approved by the General Assembly on 13 December 1946 shall cease to be in force upon the accession of Western Samoa to independence on 1 January 1962;

4. Expresses the hope that Western Samoa, on the attainment of independence, will be admitted to membership in the United Nations, should it so desire.

1039th plenary meeting,
18 October 1961.

[1] Official Records of the General Assembly, Sixteenth Session, Annexes, agenda item 48, document A/4840.

This is not a UNHCR publication. UNHCR is not responsible for, nor does it necessarily endorse, its content. Any views expressed are solely those of the author or publisher and do not necessarily reflect those of UNHCR, the United Nations or its Member States.