Security Council resolution 280 (1970) [The Situation in Middle East]

Resolution 280 (1970) of 19 May 1970

The Security Council

Having considered the agenda contained in document S/Agenda/1537,

Having noted the contents of the letters of the Permanent Representative of Lebanon[1] and the Permanent Representative of Israel,[2]

Having heard the statements of the representatives of Lebanon and Israel,

Gravely concerned about the deteriorating situation resulting from violations of resolutions of the Security Council,

Recalling its resolutions 262 (1968) of 31 December 1968 and 270 (1969) of 26 August 1969,

Convinced that the Israeli military attack against Lebanon was premeditated and of a large scale and carefully planned in nature,

Recalling its resolution 279 (1970) of 12 May 1970 demanding the immediate withdrawal of all Israeli armed forces from Lebanese territory,

1. Deplores the failure of Israel to abide by resolutions 262 (1968) and 270 (1969);

2. Condemns Israel for its premeditated military action in violation of its obligations under the Charter of the United Nations;

3. Declares that such armed attacks can no longer be tolerated and repeats its solemn warning to Israel that if they were to be repeated the Security Council would, in accordance with resolution 262 (1968) and the present resolution, consider taking adequate and effective steps or measures in accordance with the relevant Articles of the Charter to implement its resolutions;

4. Deplores the loss of life and damage to property inflicted as a result of violations of resolutions of the Security Council.

Adopted at the 1542nd meeting by 11 votes to none, with 4 abstentions (Colombia, Nicaragua, Sierra Leone, United States of America).


1 Ibid., document S/9794.

2 Ibid., document S/9795.


This is not a UNHCR publication. UNHCR is not responsible for, nor does it necessarily endorse, its content. Any views expressed are solely those of the author or publisher and do not necessarily reflect those of UNHCR, the United Nations or its Member States.