705 The Korean question

The General Assembly, Reaffirming its unswerving determination to spare no efforts likely to create conditions favourable to the attainment of the purposes of peace and conciliation embodied in the Charter of the United Nations, Noting, following the United Nations Command initiative for the exchange of sick and wounded prisoners of war, the communication [1] by the Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Central People's Government of the People's Republic of China dated 31 March 1953 to the President of the General Assembly, and the exchange of communications [2] between the United Nations Command and the Commanders of the Chinese People's Volunteers and the Korean People's Army in regard thereto, Confident that a just and honourable armistice in Korea will powerfully contribute to alleviate the present international tension,

1. Notes with deep satisfaction that an agreement has been signed in Korea on the exchange of sick and wounded prisoners of war;

2. Expresses the hope that the exchange of sick and wounded prisoners of war will be speedily completed and that the further negotiations at Panmunjom will result in achieving an early armistice in Korea, consistent with the United Nations principles and objectives;

3. Decides to recess the present session upon completion of the current agenda items, and requests the President of the General Assembly to reconvene the present session to resume consideration of the Korean question (a) upon notification by the Unified Command to the Security Council of the signing of an armistice agreement in Korea; or (b) when, in the view of a majority of Members, other developments in Korea require consideration of this question.

427th plenary meeting,
18 April 1953.

[1] See document A/2378. [2] See document A/2390.

This is not a UNHCR publication. UNHCR is not responsible for, nor does it necessarily endorse, its content. Any views expressed are solely those of the author or publisher and do not necessarily reflect those of UNHCR, the United Nations or its Member States.