Treaty of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)

Traité de la Communauté économique des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (CEDEAO)

Came into force provisionally on 28 May 1975 in respect of the following States, on whose behalf it was signed on that date, in accordance with article 62 (1): Benin , Burkina Faso (formerly Upper Volta), Côte d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. The Treaty came into force definitively in respect of the following States on 20 June 1975, the date when seven signatory States had ratified it in conformity with their constitutional procedures, in accordance with article 62 (1): Liberia (30 May 1975), Nigeria (2 June 1975), Guinea (5 June 1975), Ghana (6 June 1975), Gambia (6 June 1975), Ivory Coast (12 June 1975), Upper Volta (20 June 1975). Subsequently, the Treaty came into force in respect of the following States on the date of ratification: Benin (24 June 1975), Sierra Leone (26 June 1975), Togo (27 June 1975), Niger (2 July 1975), Guinea-Bissau (15 March 1976), Mauritania (15 March 1976). The Treaty was subsequently revised on 24 July 1993.

This is not a UNHCR publication. UNHCR is not responsible for, nor does it necessarily endorse, its content. Any views expressed are solely those of the author or publisher and do not necessarily reflect those of UNHCR, the United Nations or its Member States.