Last Updated: Friday, 24 November 2017, 11:39 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Mission Reports Haiti
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Report of the Secretary-General on the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti

31 August 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Mission Reports

Report of the Security Council mission to Haiti (11 to 14 March 2009)

3 April 2009 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Mission Reports

Search Refworld