Last Updated: Tuesday, 21 November 2017, 15:02 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Final report of the Secretary-General on the United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Sierra Leone

17 March 2014 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Statute of the Special Court for Sierra Leone

16 January 2002 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: International Legal Instruments

Search Refworld