Last Updated: Friday, 15 December 2017, 16:28 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Sudan Refugees
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Security Council resolution 2003 (2011) [on extension of the mandate of the AU/UN Hybrid Operation in Darfur (UNAMID) until 31 July 2012]

29 July 2011 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Statement [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 5734th meeting, 27 August 2007, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "The situation in Chad, the Central African Republic and the subregion"]

27 August 2007 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Search Refworld