Last Updated: Friday, 15 December 2017, 12:06 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Nepal Conflict resolution
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Security Council resolution 1939 (2010) [on the extension of the mandate of the UN Mission in Nepal (UNMIN)]

15 September 2010 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Report of the Secretary-General on the request of Nepal for United Nations assistance in support of its peace process

2 September 2010 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Search Refworld