Last Updated: Thursday, 18 January 2018, 16:17 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Mali Military operations
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Letter dated 23 December 2014 from the Secretary-General addressed to the President of the Security Council

24 December 2014 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Security Council Press Statement on Mali

10 January 2013 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country News

Search Refworld