Last Updated: Friday, 24 March 2017, 15:16 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Libya Reconciliation
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Report of the Secretary-General on the United Nations Support Mission in Libya

1 December 2016 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Security Council resolution 2009 (2011) [on the establishment of the UN Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL)]

16 September 2011 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Search Refworld