Last Updated: Friday, 24 November 2017, 10:34 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Statement [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 7856th meeting, 4 January 2017, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "The situation concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo"]

4 January 2017 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Special report of the Secretary-General on the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Great Lakes region

27 February 2013 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Search Refworld