Last Updated: Friday, 26 May 2017, 12:39 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Statement [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 7066th meeting, 25 Nov. 2013, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "Central African region"]

25 November 2013 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Security Council resolution 2053 (2012) [on extension of the mandate of the UN Organization Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUSCO) until 30 June 2013]

27 June 2012 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Search Refworld