Last Updated: Tuesday, 23 January 2018, 09:04 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: IDP camps
Showing 1-3 of 3 results
Report of the Secretary-General on the African Union United Nations Hybrid Operation in Darfur

22 March 2016 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Third report of the Secretary-General pursuant to paragraph 6 of resolution 2169 (2014)

1 May 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Security Council resolution 1861 (2009) [on extension of the mandate of the UN Mission in the Central African Republic and Chad (MINURCAT)]

14 January 2009 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Search Refworld