Last Updated: Thursday, 28 July 2016, 15:25 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Prisoners of war
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Report of the mission dispatched by the Secretary-General on the situation of prisoners of war in the Islamic Republic of Iran and Iraq : note / by the Secretary-General

24 August 1988 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Prisoners of war in Iran and Iraq : the report of a mission dispatched by the Secretary-General, January 1985

22 February 1985 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Search Refworld