Last Updated: Friday, 20 January 2017, 10:51 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-4 of 4 results
Security Council resolution 2275 (2016) [on extension of the mandate of the UN Assistance Mission in Somalia (UNSOM) until 31 Mar. 2017]

24 March 2016 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Report of the Secretary-General on the implementation of Security Council resolutions 2139 (2014), 2165 (2014) and 2191 (2014)

23 June 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Statement [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 7453rd meeting, 29 May 2015, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "Threats to international peace and security caused by terrorist acts"]

29 May 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Report of the Security Council mission to Mali, 1-3 February 2014

11 March 2014 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Mission Reports

Search Refworld