Last Updated: Monday, 19 February 2018, 14:34 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Bolivia (2018), Egypt (2017), Ethiopia (2018), Italy (2018), Japan (2017), Kazakhstan (2018), Senegal (2017), Sweden (2018), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-3 of 3 results
Security Council resolution 1192 (1192) [On Lockerbie case]

27 August 1998 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Statement by the President of the Security Council [on "The situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina"]

10 October 1996 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Report of the Secretary-General pursuant to Security Council resolution 1019 (1995) on violations of international humanitarian law in the areas of Srebrenica, Zepa, Banja Luka and Sanski Most

27 November 1995 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Search Refworld