Last Updated: Friday, 22 July 2016, 13:43 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Trafficking in persons
Showing 1-4 of 4 results
Security Council resolution 2240 (2015) [on migrant smuggling and human trafficking into, through and from the Libyan territory and off the coast of Libya]

14 October 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Report of the Secretary-General on developments in Guinea-Bissau and on the activities of the United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in that country

11 January 2013 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Report of the Secretary-General on illicit cross-border trafficking and movement

19 October 2012 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Thematic Reports

Statement by the President of the Security Council [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 5762nd meeting, 19 Oct. 2007, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "The situation in Guinea-Bissau"]

19 October 2007 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Search Refworld