Last Updated: Friday, 21 October 2016, 15:45 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Security Council resolution 2235 (2015) [on establishment of an OPCW-UN Joint Investigative Mechanism to identify the use of chemical weapons in the Syrian Arab Republic]

7 August 2015 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Statement by the President of the Security Council [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 5898th meeting, 27 May 2008, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "Protection of civilians in armed conflict"]

27 May 2008 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Search Refworld