Last Updated: Thursday, 19 October 2017, 11:48 GMT

Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights

The Court, based in Strasbourg, was set up as a result of the European Convention on Human Rights, created in 1950. This set out a catalogue of civil and political rights and freedoms. It allows people to lodge complaints against States which have signed up to the Convention for alleged violations of those rights. Although founded in 1950, the Court did not actually come into existence until 1959. It gained its present form as a single European Court of Human Rights when Protocol No. 11 to the ECHR took effect in 1998.

The Court is currently made up of 47 judges, one in principle for every State signed up to the Convention. They are elected by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and serve for six years. Judges sit on the Court as individuals and do not represent their country.  Website:
Selected filters: Case Law Djibouti
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Kebe and others v. Ukraine

12 January 2017 | Judicial Body: Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights | Topic(s): Access to procedures - Border controls - Effective remedy - Grounds for persecution - Refugee status determination (RSD) / Asylum procedures | Countries: Djibouti - Eritrea - Ukraine

Ali v. Switzerland

The present judgment is subject to editorial revision before its reproduction in final form in Reports of Judgments and Decisions 1998. These reports are obtainable from the publisher Carl Heymanns Verlag KG (Luxemburger Straße 449, D50939 Köln), who will also arrange for their distribution in association with the agents for certain countries as listed overleaf.

5 August 1998 | Judicial Body: Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights | Topic(s): Expulsion | Countries: Djibouti - Switzerland

Search Refworld