Last Updated: Monday, 19 February 2018, 14:34 GMT

Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights

The Court, based in Strasbourg, was set up as a result of the European Convention on Human Rights, created in 1950. This set out a catalogue of civil and political rights and freedoms. It allows people to lodge complaints against States which have signed up to the Convention for alleged violations of those rights. Although founded in 1950, the Court did not actually come into existence until 1959. It gained its present form as a single European Court of Human Rights when Protocol No. 11 to the ECHR took effect in 1998.

The Court is currently made up of 47 judges, one in principle for every State signed up to the Convention. They are elected by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and serve for six years. Judges sit on the Court as individuals and do not represent their country.  Website:
Selected filters: Case Law Tutsis
Showing 1-1 of 1 result
Nduwayezu v. Sweden

Admissibility application.

8 December 2009 | Judicial Body: Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights | Topic(s): Arbitrary arrest and detention - Asylum-seekers - Deportation / Forcible return - Freedom from torture, inhuman and degrading treatment - Human rights activists - Persecution based on political opinion - Persecution of family members - Tutsis | Countries: Burundi - Sweden

Search Refworld