Last Updated: Wednesday, 17 January 2018, 20:36 GMT

Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights

The Court, based in Strasbourg, was set up as a result of the European Convention on Human Rights, created in 1950. This set out a catalogue of civil and political rights and freedoms. It allows people to lodge complaints against States which have signed up to the Convention for alleged violations of those rights. Although founded in 1950, the Court did not actually come into existence until 1959. It gained its present form as a single European Court of Human Rights when Protocol No. 11 to the ECHR took effect in 1998.

The Court is currently made up of 47 judges, one in principle for every State signed up to the Convention. They are elected by the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe and serve for six years. Judges sit on the Court as individuals and do not represent their country.  Website:
Showing 1-1 of 1 result
Al-Saadoon and Mufdhi v. United Kingdom

Admissibility application. See also the judgment on merits: Al-Saadoon and Mufdhi v. United Kingdom; and the judgment of the Court of Appeal (England and Wales): R (on the application of (1) Faisal Attiyah Nassar Al-Saadoon (2) Khalaf Hussain Mufdhi) v. Secretary of State for Defence [2009] EWCA Civ 7.

30 June 2009 | Judicial Body: Council of Europe: European Court of Human Rights | Document type: Case Law | Topic(s): Criminal justice - Death penalty - Effective remedy - Freedom from torture, inhuman and degrading treatment - International humanitarian law (IHL) / Geneva Conventions - Jurisdiction - Right to life | Countries: Iraq - United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Search Refworld