Last Updated: Tuesday, 31 May 2016, 12:25 GMT

United States District Courts

The United States district courts are the trial courts of the federal court system. Within limits set by Congress and the Constitution, the district courts have jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of federal cases, including both civil and criminal matters.

There are 94 federal judicial districts, including at least one district in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Three territories of the United States -- the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands -- have district courts that hear federal cases, including bankruptcy cases.  Website:
Selected filters: Afghanistan
Showing 1-1 of 1 result
Fadi Al Maqaleh et al. v. Gates et al.; Haji Wazir Redha et al. v. Gates et al.; Amin Al Bakri et al. v. Gates et al.; Al Najar et al. v. Gates et al.

2 April 2009 | Publisher: United States District Courts | Document type: Case Law

Search Refworld