Last Updated: Wednesday, 25 May 2016, 06:11 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Thematic Reports Rwanda
Showing 1-1 of 1 result
Letter dated 14 May 2009 from the President of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda addressed to the President of the Security Council : Report on the completion strategy of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (as at 4 May 2009)

14 May 2009 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Thematic Reports

Search Refworld