Last Updated: Thursday, 26 May 2016, 08:56 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Thematic Reports Kuwait
Showing 1-1 of 1 result
Twenty-third Report of the Secretary-General Pursuant to Paragraph 14 of Resolution 1284 (1999)

6 December 2006 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Thematic Reports

Search Refworld