Last Updated: Friday, 24 October 2014, 15:39 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Argentina (2014), Australia (2014), Chad (2015), Chile (2015), Jordan (2015), Lithuania (2015), Luxembourg (2014), Nigeria (2015), Republic of Korea (2014), Rwanda (2014)), five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Mission Reports Serbia
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Report of the Secretary-General on the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo

12 August 2011 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Mission Reports

Report of the Security Council Mission on the Kosovo Issue

4 May 2007 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Mission Reports

Search Refworld