Last Updated: Friday, 30 January 2015, 14:04 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Argentina (2014), Australia (2014), Chad (2015), Chile (2015), Jordan (2015), Lithuania (2015), Luxembourg (2014), Nigeria (2015), Republic of Korea (2014), Rwanda (2014)), five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Zambia
Showing 11-11 of 11 results
Resolution 268 (1969) of 28 July 1969

28 July 1969 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Resolutions/Recommendations/Declarations

Search Refworld