Last Updated: Friday, 30 September 2016, 16:22 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Statement by the President of the Security Council [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 5828th meeting, 30 Jan. 2008, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "The situation concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo"]

30 January 2008 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Letter dated 23 July 1999 from the Permanent Representative of Zambia to the Unted Nations addressed to the President of the Security Council: Ceasefire Agreement

23 July 1999 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Multilateral Treaties/Agreements

Search Refworld