Last Updated: Wednesday, 28 September 2016, 16:35 GMT

UN Security Council

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the UN Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. Organized to function continuously, a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarters. The Council consists of 15 members: five permanent members with veto power (China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America) and ten non-permanent members (Membership: Angola (2016), Egypt (2017), Japan (2017), Malaysia (2016), New Zealand (2016), Senegal (2017), Spain (2016), Ukraine (2017), Uruguay (2017), Venezuela (Bolivian Republic of) (2016)) five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.  Website:
Selected filters: Palestinian
Showing 1-2 of 2 results
Statement [made on behalf of the Security Council, at the 7225th meeting, 28 July 2014, in connection with the Council's consideration of the item entitled "The situation in the Middle East, including the Palestinian question"]

28 July 2014 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Presidential Statements

Peaceful settlement of the question of Palestine : report of the Secretary-General

12 September 2012 | Publisher: UN Security Council | Document type: Country Reports

Search Refworld